Information for:
Information about:

Dean's Welcome Message

Welcome to the University of Connecticut College of Agriculture and Natural Resources. Established as the Storrs Agricultural School in 1881, the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources has been an important part of UConn since its inception. As the state’s land-grant institution, we continue to embrace the three-fold land grant mission of teaching the next generation of leaders, developing new knowledge through research and delivering that knowledge to Connecticut citizens through formal and informal outreach and service programs. Over the years, the College has continued to evolve as the needs of Connecticut have changed and now encompasses a wide variety of programs that address our food system from farm to fork, protect our natural resources and the environment, improve the health and nutrition of our citizens and address the needs of individuals, families and communities. Nearly every Connecticut citizen is touched in some way by our programs.

Undergraduate students may pursue a four-year bachelor of science degree, choosing from 15 majors and 16 minors, or they can pursue a two-year associate of applied science degree from the Ratcliffe Hicks School of Agriculture. The College's research is coordinated through the Storrs Agricultural Experiment Station. Outreach programs are delivered through the Cooperative Extension System at eight locally based offices as well as the Storrs campus. As you explore our web site, I am sure you will be amazed by the breadth of our programs.

Gregory J. Weidemann
Dean and Director

The vision of the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources is to be one of the highest quality institutions that generates new knowledge, disseminates knowledge in formal and informal settings, engages societal needs, provides leadership for problem solving, improves the quality of life for all people of the State of Connecticut and participates in global citizenship.


The role of the land-grant university is to develop knowledge and disseminate it through the three academic functions of teaching, research, and outreach education. This role is based in historic federal legislation including the Morrill, Hatch, Smith-Lever, McIntire-Stennis, and Animal Health acts, and enabling state statutes.

Top of page

Dean Weidemann
Gregory Weidemann
Dean and Director
College of Agriculture, Health and Natural Resources

  ©University of Connecticut, College of Agriculture and Natural Resources
UConn UConn